Porsche 919 Tribute - The 919 Hybrid on the racetrack

Fascination of the Porsche 919 Hybrid – stages in the life of a legend

The Porsche 919 Hybrid has written motorsport history. But the final chapter is not yet complete. Before our champion finally retires to act as a new magnet for visitors to the Porsche Museum, it is saying thank you to all its fans around the globe as part of the 919 Tribute Tour. This is good enough reason to once again look back on four eventful and emotional years full of real performance and passion.

Vision meets reality

It all began with a dream. And a dedicated team with visionary ideas and the desire to achieve perfection without compromise. The aim was to construct the best vehicle in its class. The result was dominance and success all along the way. A review of the most important milestones in the four-year success story of the Porsche 919 Hybrid:

Porsche 919 Tribute - Two 919 Hybrid on the racetrack
Porsche 919 Tribute - The 919 Hybrid on the racetrack

The first season in 2014 – and the first victory

In April 2014, the Porsche 919 Hybrid made its racing debut at Silverstone – with a completely unique and bold drive concept. Initially the 919 Hybrid was not a sure-fire success. It was more of a fierce fighter with the DNA of a winner. But the 919 Hybrid became stronger and stronger from race to race. It fought its way through and consistently reeled in the field from behind. Tirelessly. Relentlessly. The record from the first season in 2014 was four pole positions and its first victory in the WEC season finale in Brazil – the start of an enthralling winning streak that remains unparalleled.

2015 racing season – out and out dominance

The findings from the previous season were consistently put into practice. Weaknesses eliminated. Strengths reinforced. The Porsche LMP1 factory team succeeded in adding the crucial finishing touches to the car, with real success. Throughout the 2015 season, two out of three featured a Porsche 919 Hybrid on the front row of the grid. In qualifying for the 24 Hours of Le Mans, the Swiss driver Neel Jani managed to set a new lap record: He completed the 13.629 kilometers in 3 minutes 16.887 seconds.

The time then arrived: On June 14th, 2015 the 919 Hybrid recorded its first victory at Le Mans. It was the 17th overall victory in Porsche’s successful history of motor racing. The delighted drivers were Earl Bamber, Nick Tandy and Nico Hülkenberg.

The 919 Hybrid was also triumphant in the races which followed. Mark Webber, Timo Bernhard and Brendon Hartley claimed overall victory in each of the four 6-hour races – at the Nürburgring, in Austin, in Fuji and in Shanghai. In Shanghai, the Porsche crew also claimed the manufacturers’ world championship. In the season finale in Bahrain, the race was won by the driver trio of Dumas, Jani and Lieb. Bernhard, Hartley and Webber also claimed the world championship title.

2016 racing season – Le Mans, the second win

Le Mans again. But this time the victorious driver trio was Dumas, Jani and Lieb. At the same time, it was the 18th overall victory for Porsche. Team-mates Bernhard, Hartley and Webber all contributed to score points at the Nürburgring, in Mexico City, in Austin and in Shanghai. In China, Porsche claimed its second manufacturers’ world championship in succession. At the season finale in Bahrain, the winning trio Dumas, Jani and Lieb only needed to finish sixth to be crowned the new world champions.

Porsche 919 Tribute - The 919 Hybrid in the paddock
Porsche 919 Tribute - The 919 Hybrid on the racetrack
Porsche 919 Tribute - The 919 Hybrid on the racetrack
Porsche 919 Tribute - The 919 Hybrid on the racetrack
Porsche 919 Tribute - The 919 Hybrid at the pitstop

2017 racing season – hello hat trick

In Silverstone, the two 919 Hybrids finished second and third. In Spa, they came third and fourth. Then Porsche picked up speed again.The newly assembled trio of drivers Bamber, Bernhard and Hartley claimed the overall lead in Le Mans and secured the hat-trick. It was the 19th overall victory for Porsche. The heroes of Le Mans were also successful at the Nürburgring, in Mexico City and in Austin. After the penultimate world championship race in Shanghai, Porsche had already secured its third manufacturers’ world championship. And, the 919 Hybrid finally went into the annals of motor racing history as a true legend.

Porsche 919 tribute - The 919 Hybrid in front of his fans
Porsche 919 tribute - celebrate after the victory
Porsche 919 Tribute - Close-up of the 919 Hybrid in the pit lane
Porsche 919 tribute - celebrate after the victory

100,000 kilometers driven, millions of people thrilled

With its continuous top level of performance over four years, the Porsche 919 Hybrid has created a monument to itself and has driven its way into the hearts of motor racing fans for all time. From race to race, from pole position to pole position and from victory to victory the level of excitement grew – and so did the fan base. Now that this unrivalled success story has culminated, it is time to say thank you to the fans. With an impressive world tour – the 919 Tribute Tour 2018 – the legendary car is now bidding farewell to the great motor racing stage in fitting style and is demonstrating once again what it is truly capable of.

Porsche 919 Tribute - The 919 Hybrid on the streets of New York City at night

Power unleased – the 919 Hybrid Evo

On the 919 Hybrid Evo, features including a larger front diffuser, a wider rear wing, side skirts and a DRS system produce 53 per cent more downforce and an increase in efficiency of 66 per cent. Compared to the initial design, the Porsche 919 Hybrid Evo now delivers an impressive 720 hp rather than the previous 500 hp thanks to the increased flow of petrol. In addition, the energy recovery systems operate ten per cent more efficiently: The power output in the Evo version is 440 hp (previously: 400 hp). The power-assisted steering and the front and rear wheel mounts have been adapted accordingly to cope with the higher forces. Another factor is that the 919 Hybrid Evo is 39 kilograms lighter than the original racing version at 849 kilograms. To achieve this, the air conditioning, wiper, various sensors, the electronics unit for the stewards, the light system and the pneumatic jack device were removed. And the long-standing tire partner Michelin has also contributed to the success of “mission lap record” by producing a new tire compound. Ultimately, the Porsche 919 Hybrid Evo generates more downforce than a Formula 1 racing car.

Coming to a city near you with an insatiable appetite for records

Away from the competition and liberated from the tight rules governing the top prototype class, the triple winner of Le Mans can finally display its full potential as part of its farewell tour. For example, at the legendary Spa-Francorchamps race circuit in Belgium. It was there on April 9th, 2018 that the Porsche 919 Hybrid Evo broke the track record – thanks to unlimited petrol flow and unchecked performance of the hybrid systems. This was a more than successful start to the great farewell tour and undoubtedly not the last highlight. Before the 919 Tribute Tour 2018 ends on a fitting high note at the Porsche Museum, fans all over the world will have plenty of opportunities to see the legend in action - up close and live once more. And to share their experiences using #919tribute.

Porsche 919 Tribut - Der 919 Hybrid auf der Rennstrecke

Faszination Porsche 919 Hybrid – Stationen eines Mythos

Der Porsche 919 Hybrid hat Motorsportgeschichte geschrieben. Doch das letzte Kapitel steht noch aus. Bevor unser Champion endgültig als neuer Besuchermagnet ins Porsche Museum einfährt, bedankt er sich im Rahmen der 919 Tribute Tour bei allen Fans rund um den Globus. Grund genug, vier bewegte und bewegende Jahre voller Leistung und Leidenschaft noch einmal Revue passieren zu lassen.

Vision trifft Wirklichkeit

Am Anfang war ein Traum. Und ein engagiertes Team mit visionären Ideen und dem Streben nach kompromissloser Perfektion. Das Ziel: das beste Fahrzeug seiner Klasse zu konstruieren. Das Ergebnis: Dominanz und Erfolg auf ganzer Linie. Ein Rückblick auf die wichtigsten Meilensteine der vierjährigen Erfolgsgeschichte des Porsche 919 Hybrid.

Porsche 919 Tribut - Zwei 919 Hybrid auf der Rennstrecke
Porsche 919 Tribut - Der 919 Hybrid auf der Rennstrecke

Die erste Saison 2014 – und der erste Sieg

Im April 2014 feiert der Porsche 919 Hybrid sein Renndebüt in Silverstone –mit einem völlig eigenständigen und mutigen Antriebskonzept. Zunächst war der 919 Hybrid kein Selbstläufer. Eher ein leidenschaftlicher Kämpfer mit der DNA eines Siegertypen. Doch von Rennen zu Rennen wird der 919 Hybrid stärker und stärker. Er beißt sich durch und rollt das Feld konsequent von hinten auf. Unermüdlich. Unerbittlich. Bilanz der ersten Saison 2014: vier Pole-Positions sowie der erste Sieg im WEC-Saisonfinale in Brasilien – der Beginn einer packenden Erfolgsserie, die ihresgleichen sucht.

Renn-Saison 2015 – Dominanz durch und durch

Die Erkenntnisse aus der vorausgegangenen Saison werden konsequent in die Tat umgesetzt. Schwächen eliminiert. Stärken forciert. So gelingt es dem LMP1-Werksteam von Porsche dem Fahrzeug den entscheidenden Schliff zu verpassen. Mit Erfolg: Während der gesamten Saison 2015 sind stets zwei von drei Porsche Hybrid 919 auf die erste Startreihe abonniert. Im Qualifying für das 24-Stunden-Rennen von Le Mans gelingt dem Schweizer Neel Jani ein Rundenrekord: Er schafft die 13,629 Kilometer in 3.16.887 Minuten.

Dann ist es endlich soweit: Am 14. Juni 2015 fährt der 919 Hybrid den ersten Le-Mans-Sieg ein. Es ist der 17. Gesamtsieg in der erfolgreichen Rennsportgeschichte von Porsche. Die glücklichen Fahrer heißen Earl Bamber, Nick Tandy und Nico Hülkenberg.

Auch in den darauffolgenden Rennen triumphiert der 919 Hybrid. Mark Webber, Timo Bernhard und Brendon Hartley holen bei den vier 6-Stunden-Rennen – am Nürburgring, in Austin, in Fuji sowie in Shanghai – jeweils den Gesamtsieg. In Shanghai sichert sich die Porsche-Crew zudem den Hersteller-WM-Titel. Beim Saison-Finale in Bahrain gewinnt das Fahrer-Trio Dumas, Jani und Lieb das Rennen. Bernhard, Hartley und Webber erringen den WM-Titel.

Renn-Saison 2016 – Le Mans, die Zweite

Nochmal Le Mans. Doch diesmal heißt das siegreiche Fahrertrio Dumas, Jani und Lieb. Es ist zugleich der 18. Gesamtsieg für Porsche. Die Team-Kollegen Bernhard, Hartley und Webber punkten im Gegenzug auf dem Nürburgring, in Mexico-Stadt, in Austin sowie in Shanghai. In China holt sich Porsche den zweiten Hersteller-WM-Titel in Folge. Beim Saison-Finale in Bahrain reicht dem Erfolgstrio Dumas, Jani und Lieb Platz sechs, um zum neuen Weltmeister gekürt zu werden.

Porsche 919 Tribut - Der 919 Hybrid im Fahrerlager
Porsche 919 Tribut - Der 919 Hybrid auf der Rennstrecke
Porsche 919 Tribut - Der 919 Hybrid auf der Rennstrecke
Porsche 919 Tribut - Der 919 Hybrid auf der Rennstrecke
Porsche 919 Tribute - Der 919 Hybrid am Boxenstopp

Renn-Saison 2017 – Hallo Hattrick

In Silverstone landen die beiden 919 Hybrid auf den Rängen zwei und drei. In Spa auf Platz drei und vier. Dann nimmt Porsche wieder Fahrt auf: Das neu zusammengestellte Fahrertrio Bamber, Bernhard und Hartley erobert in Le Mans die Gesamtführung und macht den Hattrick perfekt. Es ist der 19. Gesamtsieg für Porsche. Auch auf dem Nürburgring, in Mexiko-Stadt und in Austin sind die Helden von Le-Mans erfolgreich. Nach dem vorletzten WM-Lauf in Shanghai ist Porsche der dritte Hersteller-WM-Titel bereits sicher. Und der 919 Hybrid geht endgültig als Legende in die Annalen der Rennsportgeschichte ein.

Porsche 919 Tribut - Der 919 Hybrid vor seinen Fans
Porsche 919 Tribut - Feiern nach dem Sieg
Porsche 919 Tribut - Nahaufnahme des 919 Hybrid in der Boxengasse
Porsche 919 Tribut - Feiern nach dem Sieg

100.000 gefahrene Kilometer, millionenfache Begeisterung

Der Porsche 919 Hybrid hat sich binnen vier Jahren durch kontinuierliche Spitzenleistungen selbst ein Denkmal gesetzt und sich für alle Zeiten in die Herzen der Motorsportfans gefahren. Von Rennen zu Rennen, von Pole-Position zu Pole-Position und von Sieg zu Sieg wuchs die Begeisterung – und damit die Fangemeinde. Angekommen an der Zielmarke dieser beispiellosen Erfolgsgeschichte wird es Zeit, sich bei den Fans zu bedanken. Mit einer eindrucksvollen Welttournee – der 919 Tribute Tour 2018 – verabschiedet sich die Legende nun standesgemäß von der großen Rennsportbühne und zeigt dabei noch einmal, was wirklich in ihr steckt.

Fan-Nähe und ungebrochener Rekordhunger

Außer Konkurrenz und losgelöst vom engen Regelwerk der Prototypen-Topklasse, kann der Dreifach-Sieger von Le Mans im Rahmen seiner Abschiedstournee endlich sein ganzes Potenzial entfalten. Zum Beispiel auf der legendären Rennstrecke von Spa-Francorchamps in Belgien. Dort knackt der Porsche 919 Hybrid Evo am 9. April 2018 den Streckenrekord – dank unlimitiertem Benzindurchfluss und ungedrosselter Performance der Hybridsysteme. Ein mehr als gelungener Auftakt der großen Abschiedstournee und sicher nicht das letzte Highlight. Denn bevor die 919 Tribute Tour 2018 im Porsche Museum ihren würdigen Abschluss findet, bietet sich den Fans auf der ganzen Welt reichlich Gelegenheit, den Mythos noch einmal live und hautnah in Aktion zu erleben. Und die Erfahrungen unter #919tribute zu teilen.

Porsche 919 Tribute - The 919 Hybrid auf den Straßen von New York City bei Nacht

Entfesselte Kraft – der 919 Hybrid Evo

Beim 919 Hybrid Evo sorgen unter anderem ein größerer Frontdiffusor, ein breiterer Heckflügel, seitliche Schürzen sowie ein DRS-System für 53 Prozent mehr Abtrieb und eine Effizienzsteigerung von 66 Prozent. Im Vergleich zur Ausgangsvariante erreicht der Porsche 919 Hybrid Evo durch erhöhten Benzindurchfluss jetzt satte 720 statt wie bisher 500 PS. Zudem arbeiten die Energierückgewinnungssysteme um zehn Prozent effizienter: Die Leistungsausbeute liegt in der Evo-Version bei 440 PS (vorher: 400 PS). Die Servounterstützung der Lenkung sowie die vorderen und hinteren Radträger wurden entsprechend an die höheren Kräfte angepasst. Hinzu kommt, dass der 919 Hybrid Evo 39 Kilogramm leichter ist als die ursprüngliche Rennversion mit 849 Kilogramm. Dafür wurden die Klimaanlage, der Scheibenwischer, verschiedene Sensoren, die Elektronikeinheit der Regelwächter, die Lichtanlage sowie die pneumatische Wagenhebervorrichtung entfernt. Und auch der langjährige Reifenpartner Michelin hat mit einer neuen Reifenmischung zum Erfolg der „Mission Streckenrekord“ beigetragen. Schließlich erzeugt der Porsche 919 Hybrid Evo mehr Abtrieb als ein Formel-1-Rennwagen.

Die Tour geht weiter

Der neue Streckenrekord in Spa ist ein mehr als gelungener Auftakt der großen Abschiedstournee und sicher nicht das letzte Highlight. Denn bevor die 919 Tribute Tour 2018 im Porsche Museum ihren würdigen Abschluss findet, bietet sich den Fans auf der ganzen Welt reichlich Gelegenheit, den Mythos noch einmal live und hautnah in Aktion zu erleben. Und die Erfahrungen unter #919tribute zu teilen.