Porsche 919 tribute - Neel Jani's track record at Spa-Francorchamps

08.04. Spa-Francorchamps

Broken Formula 1 track record in Spa

919 and Spa – two motorsport icons. And two legends that are closely intertwined. At the Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps in Belgium, which is steeped in history, two Porsche drivers Neel Jani and Marc Lieb achieved the very first pole position for the 919 Hybrid in a spectacular qualifying session in 2014. This was the start of an impressive run of success with a total of 20 pole positions, which the LMP1 champion claimed over the course of its four-year career.

The Spa-Francorchamps race circuit features 21 bends, some of which are spectacular, over a distance of 7.004 km. Due to the altitude difference of around 100 meters over the course of the circuit and the large number of bends, the track is often referred to as the “Ardennes rollercoaster”. Its proximity to the border also makes the race circuit extremely popular with German motor racing fans.

When it last appeared in Spa, the 919 Hybrid as an Evo version laid down a marker and broke Lewis Hamilton’s Formula 1 track record from August 26th, 2017. Neel Jani managed to complete the Grand Prix lap in 1.41.770 minutes and thus beat Hamilton’s previous record by 0.783 seconds.

Porsche 919 Tribut - congratulations after the track record
Porsche 919 Tribute - The 919 Hybrid on the racetrack
Porsche 919 Tribute - The 919 Hybrid on the racetrack
Porsche 919 tribute - Neel Jani in the cockpit of the 919 Hybrid

Porsche 919 Tribut - Neel Jani's Streckenrekord in Spa-Francorchamps

08.04. Spa-Francorchamps

Formel-1-Streckenrekord in Spa gebrochen

919 und Spa – zwei Chiffren für die Faszination Motorsport. Und zwei Legenden, die eng miteinander verbunden sind. Auf dem geschichtsträchtigen Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps in Belgien errangen die beiden Porsche-Piloten Neel Jani und Marc Lieb in einem spektakulären Qualifying 2014 die allererste Pole-Position für den 919 Hybrid. Der Beginn einer beeindruckenden Erfolgsserie von insgesamt 20 Pole-Positions, die der LMP1-Champion im Laufe seiner vierjährigen Karriere eroberte.

Die Rennstrecke von Spa-Francorchamps präsentiert sich mit 21 teils spektakulären Kurven auf 7.004 km. Aufgrund eines Höhenunterschieds von rund 100 Metern im Streckenverlauf und des beachtlichen Kurvenaufkommens wird der Kurs gerne als „Ardennen-Achterbahn“ bezeichnet. Durch die Nähe zur Grenze ist die Rennstrecke auch bei deutschen Motorsportfans ausgesprochen beliebt.

Bei seinem letzten Auftritt in Spa hat der 919 Hybrid als Evo-Version noch einmal ein Zeichen gesetzt und Lewis Hamiltons Formel-1-Streckenrekord vom 26. August 2017 gebrochen. Neel Jani schaffte die Grand-Prix-Runde in 1.41,770 Minuten und unterbot damit Hamiltons bisherige Bestmarke um 0,783 Sekunden. Wow!

Porsche 919 Tribut - Gratulation nach dem Streckenrekord
Porsche 919 Tribut - Der 919 Hybrid auf der Rennstrecke
Porsche 919 Tribut - Der 919 Hybrid auf der Rennstrecke
Porsche 919 Tribut - Neel Jani im Cockpit des 919 Hybrid